Halloween Terror begins next week

event-halloween.png

The Overwatch Twitter account teased us with a release date for the Halloween Terror event! It’ll begin next week on Tuesday, October 10 (typically midday in the US). The Junkenstein’s Revenge event is expected to return, along with last years costumes and at least two new skins, one for Reaper and McCree, based on the teaser video. Sombra, Orisa, and Doomfist have joined the fight since last Halloween, so maybe we’ll see new skins for them. As of this writing, we haven’t heard about prices for old skins, but the hope is that last year’s models will be cheaper, similar to the Summer Games.

Another OWL Team Name

logo-dallasFuel.png

Dallas became the first US Overwatch League team to get an official name! Known as the Dallas Fuel, they released an image of Genji wearing blue, a nod to the colors of EnVyUs of whom the team is currently comprised of. Currently on the Dallas Fuel Twitter feed, they’re seeking fan input on what their team hashtag should be. Check it out and submit your idea!

A few possible leaks on other team names have come out thanks to sleuths watching trademark filings or leaks to sports news organizations. While not confirmed, it’s likely we’ll soon hear the announcements of the New York Excelsior, the San Francisco Shock, and Los Angeles Gladiators.

PTR Update

ptr.png

A few hero changes are available to test out on the PTR. Causing the most discussion is the removal of Mercy’s Valkyrie ultimate resetting her Resurrection timer, and instead doubling the range at which it may be cast. Geoff Goodman wrote that this change for Mercy is purely a test and likely to be modified further. The massive momentum retention from Guardian Angel is also being fixed, as it wasn’t intended, but the team is looking into ways to keep the fun aspects of it around for the future.

Also on the PTR, which will be released along with the Halloween update, are the changes to a few hero ultimates so that they won’t be reset if the player is stunned right after activating them.

Overwatch Contenders playoffs this weekend

logo-contenders.png

This weekend marks the playoffs for the first season of Overwatch Contenders! Teams will be playing live at the Blizzard Arena in Los Angeles as they face-off for the finals which will be held on Sunday. Act quick and you can have a say in who will play at the showmatch between NA vs. EU where the top four players voted for by fans will play against each other in a team deatchmatch.

Saturday

  • EU: Misfits vs. Cloud9 at 17:00 GMT (12pm US Central)
  • EU: Team Gigantti vs. 123 at 19:00 GMT (2pm US Central)
  • NA: EnVyUs vs. FNRGFE at 4pm US Central (21:00 GMT)
  • NA: FaZe Clan vs. EnVision at about 6pm US Central (23:00 GMT)

Sunday

  • EU Finals: 17:00 GMT (12pm US Central)
  • NA Finals: 4:30 pm US Central (21:30 GMT)

Notable News

  • Lunatic-Hai, the two-time APEX champions, were knocked out of APEX Season 5 by GC Busan as they swept them for the second time!

  • Pre-order the Figma Genji on the Blizzard Store!

  • The BlizzCon schedule has been released.

  • Muse was announced as the BlizzCon musical act.

This Week on Overbuff

  • Miko gave her thoughts on the troubles with Mercy, and it’s not Ressurection.

  • CaptainPlanet wants you to work that body, by reading his guide to body blocking.